APC records a resounding victory in Ondo


All the 18 chairmanship seats in Saturday’s local government election in Ondo state were worn by the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The results were announced on Sunday evening by Ondo State Independent Electoral Commission (ODIEC)

ODIEC chairman, Prof. Yomi Dinakin, disclosed that the ruling APC also won 194 councilorship seats out of 198.

He declared results in the four remaining wards inconclusive.

According to Prof. Dinakin, only seven of 14 registered political parties participated in the exercise.

He stated that there was no contest in five local governments in the state

Dinakin, who declared the APC candidates winner of the election in the five local government areas, said it was in line with the Electoral Act.