Election 2020: CJN swears in 85 judges for Ondo, Edo elections, others Thursday

Spread the love

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Tanko Muhammad, will on Thursday swear in 85 judges to serve on the election petition tribunal panels set up for the upcoming governorship elections in Edo and Ondo states as well as other legislative elections in different parts of the country.

The Media Officer of the Court of Appeal, Sa’adatu Kachalla, said in a statement that the inauguration would take place at the ceremonial hall of the Supreme Court in Abuja on Thursday.

The Court of Appeal is the secretariat of election petition affairs in the country, and its President, Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem, is statutorily responsible for the selection of judges to serve on the panels of the election tribunals.

The Edo State governorship will hold on September 19, 2020, while that of Ondo State will hold on October 10, 2020.

Aggrieved candidates in the elections will have 21 days from the day of announcing the results of the elections to file their petitions at the election petition tribunal.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.