MTN inaugurates new Board: Mbeki, Sanusi, Others join

Spread the love

One of the telecommunication company in the  world The MTN Group has decided to make some changes and adjustments to its Board of Directors.

In an announcement made by the group, Emir of Kano, His Royal Highness Sanusi Lamido Sanusi,has been appointed as member Board of Dirctors to  resume duties  on the board by July 1, 2019.

 In a statement issued by The MTN group’s Corporate Affairs unit on Friday, said Thabo Mbeki a former President of South Africa will chair the IAB .

Dr Aisha Abdulahi the former African Union Commissioner for Political Affairs,is another outstanding  Nigerian, that got  the juicy appointment with The group as   member of the International Advisory Board whose operations will commence on July 1, 2019.

In that same statement,it said the restructuring had become necessary in view of “recent challenging regulatory environments and competitive trading conditions.”

 A Kenyan national, Vincent Rague, will also be a member of the new  board that takes effect July 1, 2019.

The statement read in part, “The Board has resolved to establish an international advisory board of prominent persons of considerable and wide-ranging experience.

“The primary purpose of the IAB will be to counsel, guide and support the MTN Group from time to time in fulfilling its vision and objective of being one of the premier African corporations with a global footprint in telecommunications, contributing to increased digital inclusion in Africa and the Middle East, a pivotal aspect of the fourth industrial revolution.”

There are other major changes that will be effected according to MTN for the next 12 months, Phuthuma Nhleko will be stepping down as Chairman  on December 15, 2019, after the establishment of the IAB,and a smooth transition to the new Board which takes effect july 1.

Amongst those also stepping down from the Board  includes Jeff Van Rooyen, Alan Harper, and Koosum Kaylan, they step down after ensuring a smooth transition and handover to incoming directors.

In that statement, MTN said Dr Khotso Mokhele would assume the responsibilities of Lead Independent Director.

Mcebisi Jonas has also been appointed Chairman-designate and would assume the position of Chairman of MTN Group effective December 15, 2019.

“Peter Mageza and Dawn Marole will step down from the Board effective April 30, 2020,”The statement reads.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.