Nigerians, others not eligible to apply for US Visa lottery in 2022

Spread the love

Nigerian passport holders have been barred from participating in the United States’ visa lottery in 2022.

The latest development was revealed in a document titled ‘Instructions for the 2022 diversity immigrant visa program (DV-2022)’ obtained from the US’ website on Thursday, October 15.

Nigeria is the only African country excluded in the visa lottery of 2022.

The document states: “In Africa, natives of Nigeria are not eligible for this year’s Diversity Visa program,”

The document stated that the reason why Nigeria was excluded is that more than 50,000 of its citizens immigrated to the United States in the previous five years.

Citizens of other African countries are eligible to apply, but “persons born in the areas administered prior to June 1967 by Israel, Jordan, Syria, and Egypt are chargeable, respectively, to Israel, Jordan, Syria, and Egypt. Persons born in the Gaza Strip are chargeable to Egypt; persons born in the West Bank are chargeable to Jordan; persons born in the Golan Heights are chargeable to Syria.”

The document reads in part, “Applicants who are selected in the program (selectees) must meet simple but strict eligibility requirements to qualify for a diversity visa. The Department of State determines selectees through a randomized computer drawing. The Department of State distributes diversity visas among six geographic regions, and no single country may receive more than seven percent of the available DVs in any one year.

“For DV-2022, persons born in the following countries are not eligible to apply, because more than 50,000 natives of these countries immigrated to the United States in the previous five years: Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (including Hong Kong SAR), Colombia, Dominican, Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.

“Persons born in Macau SAR and Taiwan are eligible.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.