President Buhari names railway stations after prominent Nigerians

Spread the love

 Muhammadu Buhari has approved the naming of some railway stations on the Lagos-Ibadan corridor and others on the Itakpe/Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri after some politicians and prominent Nigerians both dead and alive.

Transportation Minister Rotimi Amaechi announced the new names of the railway stations after the leaders in a statement on Monday in Abuja by the ministry’s Director of Press, Eric Ojiekwe.

The minister explained that the beneficiaries have contributed to the progress and development of their communities and the nation.

The beneficiaries on the Lagos-Ibadan corridor, according to the statement, are: “Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Apapa Station); Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station); Babatunde Raji Fashola (Agege Station), Lateef Jakande (Agbado Station) and Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola Station).

“Others are Funmilayo Ransom-Kuti (Papalanto Station); Prof. Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta Station); Segun Osoba (Olodo Station); Ladoke Akintola (Omio-Adio Station); Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan Station) and Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre).”

For the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri Railway, the beneficiaries are: “Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe Station); Dr. Olushola Saraki (Ajaokuta Station); Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo Station); Brig.-Gen. George Innih (Agenebode Station); Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi Station); Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen Station) and Brig.-Gen Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (retd.), (Igbanke Station).

Others, the statement said, include Goodluck Jonathan (Agbor Station Complex); Brig.-Gen. David Ejoor (Abraka Station); Michael Ibru (Opara Station); Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu Station) and Chief Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor)

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.